Frequently Asked Questions About Gluten-Free Products

In addition to the dedicated gluten-free section found in our Nature’s Marketplace and Health & Wellness departments, we offer gluten-free products throughout the store! The easiest way to find them is to build your shopping list on or the Wegmans App. Choose your preferred store and view your list of items organized by aisle or department to help you find your gluten-free items when in the store.

Sourcing gluten-free ingredients and creating an environment that prevents cross-contact with gluten can result in increased production costs. However, part of our commitment to all customers is to offer great-tasting, affordable foods. We offer Consistent Low Prices and Family Pack options for our Wegmans Brand gluten-free products at a great price. In addition, you can choose naturally gluten-free produce that is in season to save money. And use digital coupons to receive additional savings on a variety of Wegmans Brand items!

Before assigning the Gluten Free Wellness Key, we work with our suppliers to verify the following:

  • The product’s ingredients are not derived from wheat, rye, barley or oats. While oats are naturally gluten-free, some individuals do not tolerate oats or are advised to avoid oats when beginning a gluten-free diet.
  • Manufacturing environment, processing, scheduling, and good manufacturing practices are evaluated for the potential for cross-contact with gluten.
  • The final product must have <20 ppm gluten from unavoidable gluten present due to inadvertent cross-contact.

If there is any doubt or the supplier cannot guarantee gluten-free status, the product will not be labeled as gluten free. Also, some single-ingredient grocery, dairy, and frozen Wegmans Brand items meet our Gluten Free Wellness Key criteria but do not have a key on the product label. If you have a question about a specific product, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-WEGMANS, or you can email us on our Contact Us page.

Our stores have different layouts that make it difficult to implement companywide protocols to prevent cross-contact with gluten. Some customers told us they understand this risk but want to know if we have prepared food items that are made without gluten-containing ingredients. We identify items that are made without gluten-containing ingredients by including “Made with No Gluten Containing Ingredients” on the product’s label or on signage that references the item. Made with No Gluten Containing Ingredients does not mean the item is gluten-free. It means the item was not made with any ingredients derived from wheat, rye or barley, but may contain gluten due to shared preparation areas (shared preparation areas include ovens, cutting boards, utensils, grills, and fryers).

Wegmans Brand products make it easy for you to find this information with our Allergen Wellness Key. It is a green or black circle with a white A in the middle that appears on the label next to the “Contains __” statement. It is typically found near the ingredient statement on the product label and looks like this:

Allergens Key

Our online product catalog on and the Wegmans App allows you to read the ingredient statements on products and add items to a shopping list tailored to the store at which you shop. Please note that product formulations can frequently change. For this reason, we encourage our customers to always read the product label at each purchase to ensure that the ingredient list has not changed since their last purchase.

Additionally, our Nature’s Marketplace and Health & Wellness departments offer a variety of products specifically formulated to meet the needs of customers with food allergies. Ask to speak with the managers of these areas for help finding these and other products that may meet your needs.

We are continuously developing new Wegmans Brand products. To find out about new products, including those that have been assigned our Gluten Free and Gluten Free with Oats Wellness Keys, check out the “New from Wegmans Brand” feature on the Wegmans App.

Our Gluten Free Wellness Key makes it easy to find options that may work for you. When you see this key on a label, it means the product’s ingredients are not derived from wheat, rye, barley or oats, and the final product must have <20 ppm gluten from unavoidable gluten present due to inadvertent cross-contact.

Gluten Free Icon